If only I can shove this to their faces

I’d like to thank first my bff, Larraine Carpeso, for sharing this comic from theoatmeal.com. Just when I thought I can never express the misery and frustration I’m feeling inside, this comic translated how I was feeling and kind of sums up the pain and sufferings that I have to go through to earn some good ol’ moolah so I can feed my insecurities.

You can check out the full comic here http://theoatmeal.com/comics/design_hell cause I’ll be discussing only a part of it that makes me want to wish that social media platforms are not that accessible to everyone.

This comic basically goes on about a client dictating everything to the designer, making the designer not a designer anymore but like a puppet that the client controls. And the very accessible new social media are what’s making it possible for the client to be a control freak.

Take a look at this strip:

Exactly!

I have never fired a client, no. But I’ve had a lot of fights with clients until I finally realized that I shouldn’t or else I’ll have a very bad reputation of being a client-hater which will result to fewer clients, and no money. Definitely not an option. (Oh my, anything for money, I’d be a slave.)

As you can see in this strip, I sometimes wish that all new social media will just break down especially if my acads and business all piled up and everyone is just nagging, getting angry, and b*tching. And using all means just to get their message across: Personal Message, SMS, phone call, E-mail, YM, my feedback page! You name it, they’ve used it. Sometimes I just can’t take it that I wish there was no means for people to contact me. For that to happen, even for a bit, I intentionally forget to open my social networking accounts. (oh yes I can!)

As I’ve mentioned already in my previous blog, I hate it when my clients call me. Or I just plainly hate when people call me on my cellphone. I would have bought that wireless telephone thing if my goal was to call people, or I would have subscribed to superunli 25, but I did not, I only subscribe to unlitext because I only want to text, I do not want to call! or talk over the phone.. It’s just.. Irritating. I feel pressured when I get calls no matter who the caller is or what it is about. If it’s so important, text me first so I can prepare. Now, if you’re planning to call me in the future, keep that in mind.

So don’t get surprised if one day , I just disappear in your virtual worlds. That means, I’m fed up already and want a little space… and less of new social media. I shall get back in a few days thought if that happens. I still think new social media is cool. If it does not become a means to nag me.  🙂

About Marj Casal

Maria Angelica Nepomuceno Casal is a student of the University of the Philippines Manila and this blog is created as part of the requirements of my OC152 class. And might as well be a long term hobby.
This entry was posted in For OC152 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If only I can shove this to their faces

  1. Though the new social media made us individuals easier to reach, we can still control who or how many could really get to us. By simply ignoring or not logging in, those people can’t do anything anymore to bug you. But I think that if we have all these means of communication and we need a rest, we should not forget to inform them that we will be having a break (even if you are so irritated already). You are doing business together and they deserve to know what’s happening.

  2. Patsy says:

    Though social media allows for greater networking and easy conversation, it blurs the lines of formality. Similar to text messaging, it’s easier to confess your love to a person via text than in person. When a conversation is done in person, we have what we call ‘hiya’ and ‘respeto’. But these Filipino values aren’t taken into consideration when they converse online. Simply because it isn’t done face-to-face. One can easily b*tch talk online because they are out of reach, and physical cat fights won’t ever happen online. Because we don’t see each other face-to-face online, we drop formality and turn to become ‘makapal mukha’. I think it’s one of the downsides of SNS. Still, it’s not so bad if we just take advantage of it in moderation. After all, we really need that ‘kapal mukha’ for networking.

  3. lstea says:

    We just have to learn to do what our beloved prof has taught us.

    “Brush~”

    This is the downside of being everywhere and anywhere even if you’re actually just somewhere. I’m sure you’ve been quite fed up a lot of times with the difficult clients but in eventuality you’ll have to deal with them. Intentionally forgetting your NSM accounts may provide a temporary sense of bliss but such action, if done very frequently and with long durations, could actually damage your reputation.

    I know you’re a pretty awesome designer so just “brush~” for the gold! 🙂

Leave a Reply

