The Multiply Series: Is Multiply Trust™ really necessary?


What is the advantage of enrolling in Multiply Trust™?

Gaining a customer’s trust is crucial to getting their business. When you enroll in Multiply Trust™ as either a Verified Seller, Verified Business or Trusted Business, we will display a special Multiply badge on your site and your Marketplace listings. That badge tells customers that Multiply has verified your identity, making them feel more comfortable shopping at your store.

http://multiply.com/info/multiply-trust

As we can see, Multiply is working on the assumption that if a seller is willing to pay more, the more he/she is dedicated to putting up a trustworthy image. Is this really necessary? Or is this just another tactic of Multiply to benefit from what the sellers are getting?

Yes, I know that trust has been an issue in Multiply. With all these online stores sprouting out of nowhere, we don’t really know who to trust. But it paying more, truly the answer to these trust issues? Is subscribing to a premium account (like most sellers did) not enough?

I know that Multiply has good intentions why they put up this Multiply Trust program. Like I’ve discussed in my previous blog, probably, if a seller invests in his/her Multiply layout or this time, like a legitimation process, then maybe the seller is less likely to commit fraudulent actions, less prone to scamming. My only concern here is, how about the pioneer sellers in Multiply who have established their reputations already and who know more than paying money to earn a good image? Are they any less now since some are not really willing to apply for the Multiply Trust program because d*mn, it’s expensive.

Click photo to enlarge

It’s annual but it’s still expensive. Isn’t it better without it? Maybe for new sellers having this is crucial. But for us, who have relatively been in Multiply long enough, we can do without this. I, myself refuse to apply to this program primarily because I have no money to pay for this and clients still come even without this. Besides, I’m already on premium and more importantly, I have never scammed anyone — a fairly better badge than what Multiply Trust can offer.

About Marj Casal

Maria Angelica Nepomuceno Casal is a student of the University of the Philippines Manila and this blog is created as part of the requirements of my OC152 class. And might as well be a long term hobby.
This entry was posted in For OC152 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Multiply Series: Is Multiply Trust™ really necessary?

  1. xydc says:

    Hi Marj! 🙂 I guess you are the one to approach when it comes to Multiply stuff, haha. How’s WittyMinds, by the way? 🙂 I think Multiply wants to increase their profit through the introduction of this trust badge. However, since I am an OrCom student, I want to give Multiply the benefit of the doubt. There may have been a lot of reports on bogus buyers and sellers that’s why they made this badge as a sign for customers to trust these sellers or businesses. I also believe that this badge is targeted to the businesses or sellers that have not yet established their reputation in Multiply. Placing my perspective on Multiply’s side, I think they made the prices of these badges as expensive as these because they knew that it’s hard to earn real trust; and it’s not fair to buy it so easily so the buyer must also pay a lot for it. 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    Thanks for sharing this Marj. I already deleted my Multiply account, so I don’t really have an idea of the recent changes they’ve implemented. Anyhow, I could still say that this was an interesting move, Multiply! Interesting but, in my opinion, advantageous only to some.

    I agree with you when you pointed out that the established Multiply shops do not really need this because they’ve already gained their customers trust; having said this, I think that this Multiply Trust thingy is only advantageous for starters. Why? Because they still need to prove that they are not bogus sellers; they need to have something that would assure their prospective buyers that they are for real.

    But I still have doubts with such arrangements. The first thought that came to mind when I saw this post was: Tss, for sure Multiply’s only looking for ways to exact money from Multiply users. Why can’t they just do what Twitter did with their “verified account” system?

  3. Zid says:

    As a paranoid consumer, it is extremely important for me to get my money’s worth. Certainly I won’t entrustt all my hard work (or rather my parents’) to some random online store in Multiply. The online world is littered with creeps and scumbags that for me to get some peace of mind, I need some reassurance from the actual web developers responsible for allowing people to sell their wares on their platform.

  4. Pattydc says:

    I understand where you’re coming from with your doubts. It’s true that it seems that Multiply is only trying to create ways to extract more money from its users, but maybe they’re just trying to improve their whole system.

    Multiply didn’t really start out as an online shopping site. It was originally meant to be a blog. Something easier than Livejournal, Xanga, Blogger and the like. I remember a segment of a TV show dedicated to the Multiply-craze years back. The founders of Multiply didn’t expect that their creation could be used for online shopping, and it was actually Filipinos who started the trend.

    I believe that they integrated the whole shopping theme to their system to make it a unique selling point. And, true enough, other countries have made their online store accounts on Multiply.

    For established shops, I don’t think they need to register in this Multiply Trust thing, but then for new shops they would find this helpful.

Leave a Reply

